Skip to content

Is there a level 1 trauma center in hawaii

The Emergency Department at The Queen’s Medical Center is an all-encompassing, multidisciplinary team that specializes in treating severe illnesses and injuries in Hawaii. This center is responsible for addressing a range of medical emergencies, including but not limited to the Comprehensive Stroke Center, Level 1 Trauma Center, Level 1 Geriatric, and has quality programs for STEMI and sepsis. Thanks to its partnership with Emergency Medical Services (EMS), comprehensive medical care and hospital services are available 24/7. Queen’s Medical Center, located in Honolulu, is the first hospital in Hawaii to be designated as a Level 1 Trauma Center, Comprehensive Stroke Center, and Level 1 Geriatric Emergency Department.

The Queen’s Medical Center has been verified by the American College of Surgeons and designated by the Department of Health as Hawaii’s only Level 1 Trauma Center. The team’s dedication covers the full spectrum of trauma care, from pre-hospital through rehabilitation, to meet this high national standard for quality. Each year, over 2,700 patients are treated for trauma, including those with severe injuries. This medical center also helps lead the State of Hawaii Trauma System.

About Us

The Emergency Department and Trauma Center team at The Queen’s Medical Center is always on standby to save lives. Queen’s provides comprehensive care for the most severe medical conditions and injuries using advanced life-saving technology and the highest level of clinical services available.

Queen’s also has an Injury Prevention and Outreach team that works closely with community groups, educators, law enforcement officials, legislators, and engineers to identify ways to keep everyone in our community safe. Whether you are a motorcycle rider or a triathlete, preparing for the birth of your first child, or giving care to an elderly relative, we have valuable tips to prevent injuries across the age and activity spectrum.

BACA JUGA:   Unraveling The Mystery: Can Trauma Bonding Transition Into True Love?

Hawaii’s First Level 1 Trauma Center and Comprehensive Stroke Center

The Queen’s Medical Center is the only hospital in Hawaii that has been verified by the American College of Surgeons as a Level 1 Trauma Center. This designation reflects our leadership role in the State of Hawaii Trauma System, our medical staff’s commitment, our investment in education and research, and our mission. Queen’s is also the State’s first Comprehensive Stroke Center certified by The Joint Commission and the State’s first Level 1 Geriatric Emergency Department accredited by the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Hawaii Trauma System

In 2006, the State enacted a comprehensive trauma system by passing HRS 323-22.5. The Hawaii Emergency Medical Services and Injury Prevention System Branch (EMSIPSB) manages the trauma system. The State of Hawaii has designated one (1) Level 1 trauma center and seven (7) Level 3 trauma centers across the state. Hawaii also has a Level II military trauma center. The Hawaii Trauma System’s vision is to reduce the burden of trauma in Hawaii by collaborating on programs for injury prevention, optimal treatment, research, and education. The goal is to ensure that all trauma patients in the State of Hawaii receive quality comprehensive trauma care aligned with national trauma standards.

View the Hawaii Trauma Advisory Council

The Queen’s Medical Center is Hawai‘i’s first and only Level 1 Trauma Center, serving the entire State and Pacific Basin. We meet the highest national quality standard set by the American College of Surgeons and are designated as the lead trauma center for the State of Hawaii Trauma System by the Department of Health, Emergency Medical Services and Injury Prevention Branch. The Queen’s Trauma Program collaborates with community partners to deliver comprehensive collaborative services to all the people of Hawai‘i.

BACA JUGA:   The main goal of psychodynamic therapy is to

The Queen’s Medical Center has cared for Hawai‘i’s injured long before it was popular to be a Trauma center. As organized Trauma care grew nationally, QMC led the way locally. In 1997 under the leadership of Trauma Medical Director Dr. Peter Halford, Trauma Program Manager Ms. Kathy Welsh, and QHS President & CEO Arthur Ushijima; we were one of the first Level II Trauma centers verified by the American College of Surgeons. Their vision and commitment to patient care set the foundation for our Trauma program today. We continuously evaluate opportunities to improve our practices and delivery high-quality patient care; especially in the treatment of life-threatening injuries where truly, every second counts.

Trauma occurs without warning somewhere in Hawaii every single day. It affects all ages and races, locals and visitors, the rich and the poor alike. A consistent leading cause of death and disability among all age groups, its greatest impact is felt from age 18 to 44. Injury survivors may suffer long-term physical, emotional, economic consequences resulting in loss of productive years and a societal burden greater than cancer and heart disease combined. To support patients and their families from injury to rehabilitation, our team responds to the call of duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The Queen’s Trauma team is committed to ensure this essential public health resource is available when you need it most.

North Hawaii Community Hospital has become the third facility on the Big Island to be designated a Level III Trauma Center.

The designation indicates that the hospital offers comprehensive emergency services that include surgeons trained in trauma available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. It also means patients are assured 24-hour access to radiology, laboratory and anesthesia services.

BACA JUGA:   Breaking The Silence: The Importance Of Speaking Out About Trauma

The designation is established by the state Department of Health in conjunction with the American College of Surgeons.

The hospital’s ability to promptly diagnose and treat trauma cases will answer a critical need in reducing delays in treatment in North Hawaii, NHCH officials said in a statement.

“The 24/7 presence of a surgeon trained in trauma is one of the most positive steps we can take to strengthen our commitment to saving patients’ lives,” said Dr. Howard Wong, a general surgeon and medical director of NHCH’s Trauma Program.

The hospital has invited the public to attend a celebration in honor of its new designation at 2 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 12, on the hospital’s front lawn.

Hilo Medical Center and Kona Community Hospital received Level III Trauma Center designations in 2011.

The four basic levels of trauma center care range from Level I to Level IV. Level I centers provide total care for all types of injuries, while Level II facilities are able to provide total care for all but the most complicated cases.

If necessary, both accept transfers from Level III centers, which provide initial care and stabilization for the most serious cases.  

There are no Level I trauma centers in Hawaii; Queen’s Medical Center on Oahu is the only Level II Trauma Center in the state.